Metal Tape Mania

When I asked my friends for  juice concentrate lids a couple of years ago in a Facebook post I got only one response. My friend Lyne, an organic farmer in New Brunswick and also the Queen of recycling has been steadily sending me metal lids by the bucket load and has also kindly canvassed her adult children to do the same….I have made many little magnet artworks with these …to be exact, probably about a hundred! I had to find a new way to work my way through those little lids that keep arriving by special delivery and I decided to combine it with my latest cheap and dirty medium ; metal adhesive tape….

Image

Metal Adhesive Tape, Juice concentrate lids and bits and pieces, metal tools (remember, anything that makes a mark is a tool) Black, water based permanent marker, contact adhesive.

Image

Stick the embellishment on the lid with the tape and burnish with the paper stump.

Using your metal tools add some debossing and scratchings on the tape. Cover with black acrylic paint on waterbased permanent marker, rub off.

Image

Glue lids together, add a stick covered with tape and a little flowerpot (tape covered of course…) and voila! Five lids used – 225 to go.

047 049 053 054 055

About elitiahartmetalart

I am a traveling Metal Art teacher and a compulsive craft explorer. My home studio occasionally serves as a dining room but according to my husband not enough dinners are served here...
This entry was posted in Metal Adhesive Tape and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Metal Tape Mania

  1. Marian says:

    Hi Elitia – what a great little project – you are such a talented and giving lady😊

  2. Joy says:

    Elitia, you can make anything and everything look cool! Congrats on the blog smarty pants! Is it easy???

  3. Thérèse says:

    So glad I found your blog. I have been collecting these lids for years, hoping to find some great ideas to use them. Yahoo!!! I found you. So many ideas now to use these. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Gladys says:

    Hi Elitia, Where you get the Metal Adhesive tape?
    Blessings from Pennsylvania, USA.
    🙂

  5. Janet says:

    I absolutely love this idea. Can’t wait to try it. Thank you so much for sharing. The flower looks like a fun foam sticker to me. Am I right? Then did you make indentions in the fun foam before you covered it in the tape or are all those indentions added after it is covered in metal tape. Did you use string or something else for the raised lines?

    • Hi Janet,
      The little flowers were wooden ones from the Dollar Store- I took the round center off (for another project). The round circle lines you saw were from circular paperclips I got from Staples. So pretty much anything that has a texture can go under the metal tape, like drywall mesh, drawer liners etc. I get my metal aluminum tape from Home Depot or Lowe’s

Leave a Reply

